Crafting from the Couch

…and sewing in the wheelchair


Lil crafty update

I have a first draft of a front torso sloper, which I will explain probably once I’ve got the back sloper done and can have a more interesting story to tell.

Knitting a little bit every day on the wristwarmers for J – who says, “great, just in time for warm weather!” (She knows that gentle mocking is one of my favorite methods of communication.)

Picked up some darning I’d been…unready to pick up for a long time. I wanted to say that I’d been procrastinating, but I think more accurate is to say I needed to mull extensively on how I was going to do it, what it would look like, before I was ready to thread a darning needle.

I’ve also taken my Beaded Lanterns quilt materials out of WIP hibernation, and I have a plan to get through the last few blocks. I found these WIP management tools from Tales and Cloth to be really helpful in thinking out next steps.

And, I mended three pairs of M’s running shorts. Similar to the darning project, these shorts had been waiting for me for a while and I needed to be able to think these mends were possible. But when I looked at the ripstop nylon and saw that the seams were just, well, seams..I realized I could sew seams into ripstop nylon too. Maybe not at major stress points in the garments but enough to make M feel presentable and covered up enough.

Finally, I started a Wall quilt as a leader-ender project. I have a set of pre-cut fabric in 10″ squares (aka a layer cake) that I’m using as the bricks, and grey 2.5″ strips (a jelly roll) I’m using for the mortar — but in half, so that the mortar finishes at 0.75″.

Putting wishes out there for fewer walls to separate, and more walls to shelter. Pesach is about liberation and though in the Exodus story the Pharoah’s army was drowned by the Red Sea that allowed Jews to escape to freedom — I know that freedom at the cost of my neighbors’ lives is not freedom at all. None are free till all are free.



4 responses to “Lil crafty update”

  1. like your passover drash at the end!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thanks!! i’m trying to guess who you are based on your combination of “passover” and “drash”! 🙂

      Like

  2. I love your exodus story, and -mull extensively!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Can’t wait to see the back sloper!

    Love that wish, 100 percent.

    Like

Leave a comment

Discover more from Crafting from the Couch

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started